Panama officially the Republic of Panama is the southernmost country of Central America. Situated on the isthmus connecting North and South America it is bordered by Costa Rica to the northwest Colombia to the southeast the Caribbean Sea to the north and the Pacific Ocean to the south. The capital is Panama City.