The Slovak Republic is a landlocked state in Central Europe. It has a population of over five million and an area of about 49 000 square kilometres (19 000 sq mi). Slovakia is a landlocked country bordered by the Czech Republic and Austria to the west Poland to the north Ukraine to the east and Hungary to the south. The largest city is the capital Bratislava and the second largest is KoŇ°ice. Slovakia is a member state of the European Union NATO United Nations OECD and WTO among others.