Alberta -ælˈbɚtə- is a province of Canada. It had an estimated population of 3.7 million in 2010 making it the most populous of Canada's three prairie provinces. It and neighbouring Saskatchewan were established as provinces on September 1 1905. Alberta is located in western Canada bounded by the provinces of British Columbia to the west and Saskatchewan to the east the Northwest Territories to the north and the U.S. state of Montana to the south.