Dallas is the third-largest city in Texas and the ninth-largest in the United States. The Dallas-Fort Worth Metroplex is the largest metropolitan area in the South and fourth-largest metropolitan area in the United States. Divided between Collin Dallas Denton Kaufman and Rockwall counties the city had a 2010 population of approximately 1.2 million according to the United States Census Bureau.