New Delhi is the capital city of The Republic of India. It serves as the centre of the Government of India and the Government of the National Capital Territory of Delhi. New Delhi is situated within the metropolis of Delhi. It is one of the nine districts of Delhi Union Territory. The total area of the city is 42.7 km. New Delhi hosts 134 foreign embassies-high commissions. The foundation of the city was laid on December 15 1911.