Connecticut is a state in both the New England and metropolitan New York regions of the northeastern United States. It is bordered by Rhode Island to the east Massachusetts to the north and the state of New York to the west and the south (with which it shares a water boundary in Long Island Sound). Named for the Connecticut River the major U.S. river that approximately bisects the state Connecticut's capital city is Hartford.