The Commonwealth of Pennsylvania is a U.S. state that is located in the Northeastern and Mid-Atlantic regions of the United States. The state borders Delaware and Maryland to the south West Virginia to the southwest Ohio to the west New York and Ontario Canada to the north and New Jersey to the east. The state's four most populous cities are Philadelphia Pittsburgh Allentown and Erie. The state capital is Harrisburg.