Finland officially the Republic of Finland is a Nordic country situated in the Fennoscandian region of Northern Europe. It is bordered by Sweden in the west Norway in the north and Russia in the east while Estonia lies to its south across the Gulf of Finland. Around 5.4 million people reside in Finland with the majority concentrated in the southern region. It is the eighth largest country in Europe in terms of area and the most sparsely populated country in the European Union.