Malaysia is a federal constitutional monarchy in Southeast Asia. It consists of thirteen states and three federal territories and has a total landmass of 329 847 square kilometres (127 350 sq mi) separated by the South China Sea into two regions Peninsular Malaysia and Malaysian Borneo. Land borders are shared with Thailand Indonesia and Brunei and maritime borders exist with Singapore Vietnam and the Philippines.