Ontario -ɑnˈterijˌoʊ- is a province of Canada located in east-central Canada. It is Canada's most populous province and second largest in total area. It is home to the nation's most populous city Toronto and the nation's capital Ottawa. Ontario is bordered by Manitoba on its west Hudson Bay on its north Quebec on its east and by three states of the United States to its south (from west to east): Minnesota Michigan and New York. Ohio and Pennsylvania are across Lake Erie.