West Virginia is a state in the Appalachian and Southeastern regions of the United States bordered by Virginia to the southeast Kentucky to the southwest Ohio to the northwest Pennsylvania to the northeast and Maryland to the east. The capital and largest city is Charleston. West Virginia became a state following the Wheeling Conventions breaking away from Virginia during the American Civil War. The new state was admitted to the Union on June 20 1863 and was a key Civil War border state.